Skip to main content
AI News

Chips & ComputeNews

AWS says more than 100 proposed data-center moratoriums could weaken U.S. AI position

Amazon says it no longer uses NDAs with government agencies for data-center projects and plans annual resource-use reports, while local officials cite unresolved questions about power, water and land use.

Compute Desk · AI News

3 min readComments

Raleigh council members meet as the city develops rules for data centers.

AWS CEO Matt Garman says more than 100 proposed U.S. data-center moratoriums could weaken the country’s AI position for generations. The forecast is Amazon’s; the available evidence documents projects delayed or blocked, but does not establish that the proposals would cause long-term national harm.

Amazon has also outlined new policies on government nondisclosure agreements and public resource-use reporting. The update adds to earlier coverage of Amazon’s five-year community-investment pledge, which put the commitment at more than $1 billion.

Amazon says it no longer uses nondisclosure agreements with government agencies involved in its data-center projects. It also plans to publish annual figures on energy and water use and efficiency, as well as the share of its energy from carbon-free sources. The announcement does not specify when those reports will begin or whether the figures will be broken out by site.

What evidence supports AWS’s warning?

Garman’s count refers to proposed moratoriums, not more than 100 bans already in force. The reporting does not provide a complete list of the proposals or establish how many remain active. Garman wrote in a statement, “If these measures are enacted, the U.S. could be writing its own losing ticket to this race, and the consequences would last generations,” TechRadar reported.

Garman argues that limits on construction could threaten U.S. competitiveness and national security. He has also attributed opposition in part to misinformation and alleged that foreign governments are spreading it; the cited reporting does not independently verify that allegation.

There is evidence of project disruption, but not of the long-term effects Garman predicts. The total combines delays and blocks. It does not mean every project was permanently canceled or that its full projected value was lost, and the figure does not quantify the effect on U.S. AI competitiveness.

Why are towns considering pauses?

Local officials have described pauses as time to study impacts and write rules, not necessarily as permanent bans. Raleigh’s City Council approved a six-month pause on Tuesday while the city develops data-center rules. The city attorney cited noise, water use, and air and light pollution as issues for the process, and said state law would complicate a broad ban.

In Dane County, Wisconsin, a resolution introduced in May proposed an 18-month pause on certain data-center permits while an advisory committee researched impacts and policy options. County officials listed energy, water, land use, public services, property values, and agricultural land among the topics under consideration.

Those concerns reflect questions about how projects affect particular places, rather than proof that every proposed facility will impose the same costs. Industry supporters point to jobs and tax revenue from data centers; Amazon says it pays for the added power and infrastructure its sites need. Neither position, on its own, establishes the net costs and benefits of a specific project.

Free newsletter

Get the morning briefing

Start each day with the AI stories that matter and why — a short, free email from our newsroom.

Free. One email a day, one-click unsubscribe. See our privacy policy.

What do the buildout agreements show?

Sidney, Ohio, lists an Amazon project planned at $3 billion, with seven data-center buildings at full buildout and $50 million in direct payments specified in its agreement with the city. The city-published figures provide a concrete example of the scale of a planned buildout and the payments in one agreement. They are not an independent assessment of the project’s resource demands or net effect on the town. Tom’s Hardware’s report on Amazon’s agreements covered the company’s policy changes and community pledge.

Amazon’s Built Together program commits more than $1 billion over five years to communities where it operates data centers. The company says the money may support education, workforce training, energy and water initiatives, and local priorities. The pledge does not specify how much will go to any particular town, when it will arrive, or whether it will offset local costs.

The measures could give communities more information and resources, but the commitments do not settle the project-level questions officials are raising. The next test is what Amazon’s annual disclosures show, when they appear, and whether communities can use them to assess the effects of individual sites. The evidence available so far does not show whether local pauses will produce the long-term national harm AWS predicts.

Comments

Comments are written by readers. They are not reporting or opinion from AI News.

Share your view on this story. Criticise ideas and public records, not other readers.

Comments appear once a moderator approves them.

Community guidelines
  • Be civil. Criticise ideas, arguments and public records, not other readers.
  • No harassment, threats, hate speech or dehumanising language, and nothing that targets private individuals.
  • Don't share personal information, such as email addresses or phone numbers, yours or anyone else's.
  • Stay on topic. No advertising, spam or repeated posts.
  • Comments with links may wait for a moderator.
  • We publish comments as written or not at all, and we may remove comments that break these guidelines.

More in our terms and privacy policy.

Comments close on October 14, 2026.

No comments yet. Start the conversation.

Related coverage

More from Chips & Compute

More Compute